Lettuce Boats with Lemony Quinoa

So I notice that lettuce wraps are a whole thing now.  Well, I was hesitant, but here it is: I tried it.  It was pretty okay!  Kinda like eating a taco, really.

I found it a little tricky to find romaine leaves with enough structure, but that was mostly my fault: I had already used most of the head for the salad you saw a few days ago. Maybe make this one early in the week if you’re a miser like me and structure the hell out of your grocery list.

IMG_5179

I utilized a secret weapon I haven’t introduced you to yet…marsala.  Mmmm. I -love- Marsala, and I decided to sauté the shallots in it for a little bump up on the flavor.  In addition to that, I whipped out the lemon and the robustness of the feta.  Enjoy!

A small few notes: While the picture is nice, a few things got me in this dish. 1) I didn’t have the fresh parsley on hand that I wish I did.  I recommend using it!  2) I didn’t wash the quinoa, because I was hangry while cooking, and then my quinoa had that strange taste it sometimes does.  Don’t forget to thoroughly wash your quinoa!

Ingredients

1 cup quinoaIMG_5174
1 cup vegetable broth
1/3 cup water
1/2 cucumber, diced
1/2 carton cherry tomatoes, halved
1 shallot, minced
1/4 cup marsala wine
1/4 cup feta crumbles
1 tsp oregano and 1 tsp thyme OR 2 tsp fresh parsley
Juice of 1 lemon
4-6 Romaine leaves

Directions

Wash the quinoa, rinsing at least 4 times.  Combine quinoa with water and vegetable broth and bring to a boil, then simmer with lid on for 15 minutes, or until all the liquid has been absorbed.  Fluff the quinoa lightly with a fork and cover.

While the quinoa is cooking, chop your veggies: cucumber, tomatoes, and shallot.  Drizzle olive oil in a skillet.  Once the oil is hot, add the shallots and sauté 1 minute.  Add marsala and leave on heat, stirring occasionally, until the liquid is mostly gone (at least 5 minutes on medium heat).

Once everything is done cooking and everything else is chopped, combine all ingredients except the leaves in a bowl.  Chill for at least 15 minutes, preferably longer.   After chilling, spoon into romaine leaves and eat as desired.  Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

