A Food Dare – Artichoke Leaves

Hey everyone! Short post today.  But first, I would like to thank all of my readers that I never expected I would have!  I appreciate your likes and comments.  I’d love to hear from you all if you try anything out.

In talking to my friends, I have discovered something about artichokes – nobody eats them! At least, not the way I do.  I guess there are canned artichoke hearts, and that’s what people in my area think artichokes are? Noooooooooooo.

IMG_5089

This is so easy, and it’s tasty! I dare you to try it: eat the artichoke leaves.  They’re great with lemon butter.  Here’s the instructions, including how to actually eat them:

Ingredients
1 artichoke, bottom stem cut off
2 Tbsp butter
Juice of 1 lemon (or less, if you don’t like the tartness)

Directions:

Boil a pot of water deep enough to submerge the artichoke in.  Once the water is at a rapid boil, place the artichoke in the pot (stem removed! That’s important!).  Boil for 20-30 minutes, or until the outermost leaves come off easily with tongs.

While the artichoke is cooking, melt the butter and whisk the lemon juice in with a fork.  I usually put the butter in a ramekin near the boiling pot and slowly melt the butter that way.

To actually eat this thing: the meat of the leaves should be tender.  This is a finger food 🙂 Dip the leaf into your lemon butter and pull the inside part of the leaf against your teeth to get that goodness.  (I’ll put up a picture to demonstrate in an edit, but google has the right idea).  These go great with a meat (if you eat it) or with summer corn, a potato, rice, or whatever else you think you need a side for.

Leave a Reply

