Greetings!

Welcome!  Here’s an explanation of this white-girl-status blog.

I’ve been a vegetarian since 2010, and it attracts a lot of attention even now in my group of friends and family.  I mean, it’s not that hard! Meat is easy to not eat.  I don’t miss it in the slightest, either.  I’m passionate about cooking and determined to prove that we vegetarians eat just as well as omnivores.  So, I have three purposes in writing and posting here:

1. Direct my friends who are curious to eat non-meat meals here.

2. Challenge myself to be a better cook by trying more new things and talking about them.

3. Use my camera equipment sometimes (the cobwebs are fierce/grad school was long).

Finally, i have employed a few rating systems on my posts.  The first is a difficulty level.  I think they’re pretty self-explanatory.  I also try to rate each meal based on cost efficiency in case any readers are budget-conscious like myself.  Finally, I try to provide a nutritional rating.  Here are a few bullet point on my rating system for nutrition:

  • I’m not afraid of carbohydrates.  I will mark gluten-free recipes, but it’s not the rule around here.
  • Fats are not to be avoided.  They’re a macronutrient and help to keep you full for longer.  That said, monounsaturated fats are definitely a positive, and I will always mention that they’re involved when they are.  I do not give demotions for small portions of cheese in a recipe.
  • Greens greens greens!! I try to have them in every meal.
  • Finally, and most importantly: The more COLORFUL, the more nutritious!!

I hope you find something tasty to try!  Happy chef-ing

Leave a Reply

